Reducing the spending…week 39 – day 2 update

Meal Day 2 from the store cupboard / fridge / freezer onlyLentil Curry

Main Meal – Curry and Brown Rice

This was the nicest curry I have made in a while – the difference might be that I made it with Coconut Oil rather than Olive Oil.  The brown lentils and rice were in the cupboard and I added 1/2 large can of Coconut Milk from the freezer.  The vegetables I used in this dish were 2 onions, 1 large carrot, 1 of the 2 remaining courgettes, 2 sticks of celery, 3 small potatoes and 2 left over ones.  To all this I added 1/3 of small jar of Pataks Korma curry paste which I bought on offer recently.  For the two of us I like this size of jar but I rather think it has been discontinued.

For dessert we had some more of the crumble with a spoonful of creme frais.

Shopping Day 3

Today’s spend in readiness to make meal day 3

  • 1 Ciabatta Loaf reduced from £1.50 to 80p
  • 1 bag radishes
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 red pepper

Total Cost £3.00

Boots

No 7 offer

  • 3 for 2 offer on NO 7 Protect and Perfect Serum @ £23.95 each is £47.90 less £5 voucher = £42.90 or £14.30 each

plus 168 points plus Extra points with 2 points vouchers 500 = 668 or £6.68

Marks and Spencers

1 Navy stretchy pencil skirt £25.00 less £6 vouchers = £19.00

Lunch

I have to confess I was up too late to make anything and so had to buy soup and a bread-cake again for lunch cost £3.22.  I will definitely be taking my lunch tomorrow.

Vouchers still to spend

As you may have noticed I am using up vouchers and collecting extra points where I can. I have still  a number of vouchers to use – some better than others

  • £5 Morrisons Voucher (we tend to use these in Scotland)
  • £5 Tesco (also use in Scotland)
  • £5 Garden Token
  • £5 off at BHS
  • 3 x £5 Boots No7 skincare tokens
  • 5 x £3 No 7 makeup tokens
  • 2 for 1 entry to Stllingfleet and Parcevall Hall Gardens
  • 50p off McCain Chips
  • 100 points at Sainsbury’s on canned or packet veg and pulses
  • 70 points on a frozen pie or ready meal
  • 120 points if spending £3 on a curry sauce
  • plus various coupons for Boots toiletries from 25% off to extra points.

I also found out you can get a £5 BHS voucher off £25 spend if you book a collection for donated used clothing before 30th September – might just make that.

I have booked a hearing test at Boots and I get 150 Advantage points.  I also claimed my free 100 or so points at Sainsbury’s for having my cholesterol test at their pharmacy.

For my Day 3 meal tomorrow there has been a slight change of plan and we are having Chickpea and Tomato Bake to use the Ciabatta loaf and red pepper instead of the Tuscan Casserole.

I noticed hubby is also out of Jam so he is being forced to eat up any leftover bits before I get a new jar.  I will need fresh milk tomorrow and some potatoes too but nothing else – so should be a cheap day.

I foolishly volunteered to bake something for the Macmillan coffee morning we are holding at work on Friday.  I say foolishly not because it isn’t a good cause but because I hadn’t thought about just when I would do this baking.  Where am I going to find a spare hour tomorrow when I am having my hair cut after work and will be in late?

Still I couldn’t say no as Macmillan is the charity of our choice at work this year and the whole office is supporting them and raising money by organising pamper evenings, sleep overs, long walks and marathons and jumping out of airplanes – I will just stick to the baking it is not quite so taxing even if I might be doing it at midnight!

 

2 thoughts on “Reducing the spending…week 39 – day 2 update

    1. wherethejourneytakesme Post author

      You can have too many sometimes and feel forced into buying things when you don’t really want to. I do stock up on the Boots face creams though as it is a good offer and much more expensive to buy at full price
      Enjoyed your spending plan.

      Reply

I would love to hear from you if you would like to leave a reply

